Yearly Roundup 2013

It’s that time of year again. The time when the year ends, this blog has it’s anniversary, and I write this post highlighting the exciting and interesting things I have done this year. Oh, and yes, I am aware that the new year was six days ago but it has taken me a while to get this post out.

The first really big thing I did was in February when I went to Ontario on a birding trip with the Pennsylvania Society for Ornithology. We went to many different and cool places in Ontario, including spending a lot of time in Ottowa and at Algonquin Provincial Park. We saw many amazing boreal birds, a lot of which were life birds for me. Highlights included, great gray, boreal, snowy, and northern hawk owls, pine grosbeak, bohemian waxwing, gray jay, boreal chickadee, and many more.

20130227-225551.jpg

Northern Hawk Owl

20130228-131355.jpg

Boreal Chickadee

Not all that long after that amazing trip, I went to South Florida for spring break. There I got to do some great birding in the Keys and in the Everglades area, highlighted by a mangrove cuckoo on the Snake Bight Trail in the Everglades.

20130327-230906.jpg

Limpkin

I returned to Magee Marsh for my second time in May. It was amazing as always and was great to see all of the birders and warblers out on the boardwalk. This year was especially exciting as I was able to see my life blue-winged warbler.

DSCN5732

Black-throated Green Warbler

DSCN5728

Magnolia Warbler

The next major trip was when I went to one of the Hog Island Audubon Camps. It was an extremely amazing experience. It was my first young birding camp and an experience that I will never forget. To make things even better, the birds were awesome. We were able to see puffins, a great shearwater, a razorbill, and lots of typical Maine landbirds. It was very awesome.

DSCN5882

Black Guillemot

DSCN5917

Roseate Tern

Not long after that, I returned to Maine and did a very odd day of birding where I birded as part of a running/walking race. It was a unique experience that I plan on doing again in the future.

About a month after that, I returned to Florida, but this time to the western panhandle. I wasn’t able to do all that much birding while I was there but I did get to do some at the Gulf Islands National Seashore. It was a good trip where I was able to see sandwich terns, least terns, snowy plover, and other coastal birds.

DSCN6046

Ruddy Turnstone

A few months after that, I had my first post on the ABA’s young birder blog the Eyrie. It was a review of the new book The Warbler Guide. It was a fun post to write, and I look forward to writing much more for them in the future.

The last major thing bird wise I did this year was go to South Carolina to celebrate Christmas with my family. While I was there, I wasn’t able to do all that much birding but I got to do some, and managed to see my life red-cockaded woodpecker, along with American oystercatchers, clapper rails, and more.

DSC_5643

American Oystercatcher

Well, that just about sums up the year 2013 for me. While 2013 was pretty awesome, I am hoping that 2014 will be even better and that I will have even more for birding adventures and get even more life birds.

This entry was posted in Birding, Uncategorized, Yearly Roundups and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

