South Carolina Salt Marsh

       For the next week over Christmas, I will be staying at a house near Charleston, South Carolina. In the back of the house is quite an extensive salt marsh. We’ve only been here for two days and I’ve already seen and photographed some good birds. So, I decided to share with you some of the photos I have taken. 

Image

 

American Oystercatchers

Oystercatchers are one of the more common birds here and I have seen large numbers of them flying through the salt marsh both full days I have been here. This is a good thing for me as they are one of my favorite birds and one I don’t get to see all that often.

Image

Snowy Egret

Image

Boat-tailed Grackle

A staple bird species of the Atlantic coast is, of course, the boat-tailed grackle. While it’s true that they are dirt common here, I like them and find them quite pretty.

Image

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Yellow-rumps are quite common in the trees found around the house, and while not the brightest warbler, are pretty cool.

Image

White Ibis

Not the best photo of one but, white ibis will occasionally fly by.

       Besides the birds pictured, I have heard both clapper and virginia rails, and seen hooded merganser, bufflehead, and many more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to South Carolina Salt Marsh

  1. Pingback: Yearly Roundup 2013 | PA Birding

Leave a Reply

