Birdseye, Ebird Makes Sense at Last

Judging from the title, you are probably thinking that I am somehow against Ebird. I am not. Ebird is awesome. However, when I try to view Ebird data I get really confused and cannot find anything. That is one of the many reasons why I love the Birdseye app.
The Birdseye app essentially takes Ebird data and compresses it into an easy to view and useful format.

20130206-081913.jpg
Birdseye Home Page
As you can see, there is a button to find nearby birds. If you press this button it will take you to a page where it will tell you what species have been seen nearby in the last 30 days.

20130206-082614.jpg
Birds Seen Near Harlingen, TX
I you select a species you can see where it has been seen either as a map or as a list of spots. It also includes how close those locations are.

20130206-082727.jpg

20130206-082734.jpg
You can also view species profiles written by Kenn Kaufmann. These include a song and call library which I have found very useful at times.

20130206-090851.jpg
Zone-Tailed Hawk Species Profile

Another thing I have found to be useful is that you can keep your North American life list on the app. It will then take this and narrow down the seen nearby list to species you haven’t seen before. This is very useful if you want to quickly find a place to go try to find as many lifers as possible.
The last feature that I have found to be incredibly useful is the “View Birding Hotspots” feature. This will show you a list of all the nearby birding hotspots and allow you to see what species have been seen at each one recently.
I have used Birdseye quite a lot in the past and I must say, I love it. It is very useful, especially on trips to places you haven’t been before. However, the one downside of the app is that it is expensive ($20). However, I definitely think that it is worth it.

This entry was posted in Birding, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

