The Crows

A few days ago, I was eating dinner outside and heard a sound I haven’t heard in a while, it was the sound of a couple hundred American crows flying overhead. Yes, they’re back, the crows of my neighborhood are communally roosting once again.
For those of you who don’t know, American crows in the Fall and Winter, will roost together and will fly to those roosts in giant flocks. Watching them fly overhead is, in my opinion, one of the best parts of the fall and winter (though this may be because they are my favorite bird).
After the first night I saw them, they have made less of an appearance. I have seen them other nights but only for a short time which explains why I have no photos of these majestic black birds.
Another thing I have noticed is that this year, at least so far, they are flying towards different areas then last year. They are farther away then my house this year, though they are flying in the same direction.
So, Summer is officially over. The yellow warblers and orioles are gone, and I’ve even noticed that our nighthawks and most of our chimney swifts have gone south. I am saddened but this Winter holds promise of many winter finches. Already reports of large numbers of pine siskins are coming in.
To make up for the lack of photos, I leave you with this goldfinch on the shore of Lake Arthur.

20121007-194526.jpg

This entry was posted in Birding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

