My Schedule and why the ABA has the Right Idea

Where am I birding in the future? Glad you asked. Well, next Saturday, I will be pleased to attend the 1st annual (kind of an oxymoron isn’t it) ABA Midatlantic Youth Birding Conference. For those of you who don’t know, the ABA is the American Birding Association. They are a great organization and I recommend you check them out at their website, http://www.aba.org. Anyway, this conference is designed to bring together young birders from all across the Midatlantic region and to have some fun birding! It is being hosted by the Ashland Nature Center and is focusing primarily on hawks (which I find kind of weird saying that it’s in Delaware in the middle of duck and shorebird migration). It sounds like a lot of fun and I am really looking forward to it.
Also, in two weeks my dad is going to a 100 mile race in Utah. The rest of the family has decided to go with him. Coincidentally, it is my birthday so I get to turn fourteen in Antelope Island State Park in the middle of the Great Salt Lake. Are you jealous yet? The state park is well known for its shorebirds along with its herd of 500+ bison. Not only this, but it has some very good passerines which I have never seen before. The causeway itself could potentially yield me 28 lifers including western grebe, a bird I have wanted to see for a long time. After that we are heading up into the mountains for my dad’s race and I, of course, will be doing some birding there too.
On a more serious note, I would like to greatly applaud the ABA of there efforts with young birders. America as a whole doesn’t have that great of a young border community and the ABA has being trying to do a lot to change that. Besides this conference, they have started a youth birding blog, made a youth birding summer camp, started a youth birding competition, and much, much more. I would like to congratulate them on there efforts tell them that there work has not gone unnoticed.
And I leave you with this photo I took last week of a pair of mourning doves:

20120917-213721.jpg

This entry was posted in Birding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

