Yellow Creek

This week I went on a group outing with my bird club to Yellow Creek State Park. This is a park I’ve never been to before. There is some quite nice habbitat including open water, mudflats, marshes, and forests. I really enjoyed myself. I was ready for a good outing when as soon as we pulled in we were greeted by my FOY osprey along with tree swallows, ring-necked ducks, and wood ducks. We then continued on to a boat dock frm which a surf scoter was spotted! These are fairly rare migrants here and only come in on the tail end of waterfowl migration. Other highlights at the dock included snipe, least sandpiper, and both teal species. The final highlights came in at the pine forests with a pine warbler!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

